Photographer Spotlight – Allison and Matt

At the end of the 2010 senior portrait season, Allison Ragsdale was beat. The Durango, Colorado-based photographer and her husband, Matt, had done it all: met with seniors, captured their portraits, processed their images, and delivered prints and finished products. It had been their best year yet. There was only one problem: they had reached capacity.

If Allison and Matt wanted the business to grow, something had to give. Somehow, somewhere, Allison needed to find more hours in the day.

“I was very worried about Allison at the end of the 2010 season,” Matt remembers. “She was so tired it took her a while just to get back to normal. Burning the candle at both ends was certainly taking its toll.  We knew we had to do something.”

In March, 2011, Allison began sending her senior portrait sessions to PWD Labs for color correction. The previous year, Allison had done 56 senior portrait jobs. By the time the 2011 season was over, she had almost doubled that, in addition to shooting 9 weddings and a number of other sessions – all while barely breaking a sweat. “Not only was I relaxed and rested after our 2011 senior season, I was sad that it was over. I could have kept going, no problem,” Allison says, smiling.

“I don’t know what I would have done without PWD. Now I send them all of my jobs for color correction which leaves me time to do the things I need to do to grow my business, or just spend some leisure time with Matt,” says Allison of her relationship with PWD. “In addition to the quick turnaround, I know that the work will represent my style. It’s just one less thing for me to worry about.”

Business in 2012 has continued to grow for Allison and Matt, and the future looks good. Allison encourages other photographers to follow suit. “Every photographer should do this,” she says. “PWD is great and has enabled us to be successful and still have a life. What more could we want?”

You can see more examples of their work at AllisonRagsdalePhotography.com. And feel free to contact Allison (Allison@AllisonRagsdalePhotography.com) or Matt (Matt@AllisonRagsdalePhotography.com) for more information on how their lives and business have improved by outsourcing their post-production work to PWD.
