Bambi Cantrell Workshop Wrap-up

[Update] Kelly LaBruyere just posted some aquarium pictures she took after the workshop.  Check them out on her blog: http://blog.trueexpressionphoto.com/2009/06/photography-seminar-at-georgia-aquarium.html

Wednesday’s workshop with Bambi Cantrell was even better than we could have hoped for.  Thanks so much to Bambi, the Georgia Aquarium and everyone who attended.  I think we all learned a good deal about lighting techniques, communicating with clients, posing subjects, running a photography business and so much more.

It was my first time seeing Bambi in action and I was very impressed.  You can view the tweets I posted throughout the workshop by clicking here.

Below are a few pictures taken by our staff during the workshop:

Bambi meets and greets before the workshop begins.

Bambi meets and greets before the workshop begins.

Jerry gets things started.

Jerry gets things started.

Bambi in action.  What fun!

Bambi takes the floor. What fun!

Bambi discusses the finer points of natural lighting.

Bambi discusses the finer points of natural lighting.

Towards the end of the day, we began to shoot...

Towards the end of the day, we began to shoot...

...and shoot...

...and shoot...

...and shoot.  It was fascinating to watch Bambi in action.

...and shoot. It was fascinating to watch Bambi in action.

Bambi poses with some of the PWD Labs staff.

Bambi poses with some of the PWD Labs staff.

And then it was time to check out the aquarium.  I think Bambi was impressed!

And then it was time to check out the aquarium. I think Bambi was impressed!

While there was so much useful information I was able to walk away with, one bit of advice sticks out above all others: Bambi said “Don’t sacrifice expression for perfection.”  In other words, don’t be so wrapped up in perfecting every little detail of a shot that you miss your opportunity to capture a genuine moment of expression.  This is great advice for a perfectionist like myself.

Do you have any workshop moments or Bambi-advice you’d like to pass on?  Share with everyone by leaving a comment below.

Comments

  1. What a wonderful day!!!!! Bambi is so informative and kind. She is an excellent teacher and gives back from all her knowledge. Everyone was thirsty for the information she has. The location of the work shop was very impressive. The food was out of this world and plenty of it. We never went without drinks,snacks,breakfast and Lunch. The food was awsome. All the guest were very nice and it was like we knew each other and we did make new friends that day. The aquarium was so much fun to visit, we did not want to leave. Thank You for giving us the opportunity for a chance of a life time to meet Bambi. I will never forget how tickled she was that we all loved her and her work so much. What a beautiful day!!

  2. You’re absolutely welcome, Belinda. We’re glad you had a good time and so happy you could come.

  3. Angela photography & design says:

    Wow! What an amazing workshop! I am so impressed with the amount of information I took home with me that day! I completed a half of a notebook of helpful hints given by Bambi! I was truly impressed with her work. The posing tips were out of this world! I have already utilized these poses on my own models and I cant get over the difference in my portraits! The simple advice she gave out made more of an impact on me than the big stuff …sometimes as photographers we get so indepth that we can forget the little things that actually make a photograph great! She actually taught on how to speak to the client that you are photographing…that was impressive! And it truly can determine your portrait outcome! I am blessed to have been able to attend this training! Bambi has given me a whole new inspiration for my work in modeling and wedding photography! Thank you to all the wonderful staff from Bambi to the Imagequix guys..PWD…even the servers were equally amazing! A very professional and informative seminar! GOD BLESS,
    ~Angela
    Angela photography & design
    Jacksonville, Alabama

  4. Angela, I agree completely. I was taking notes myself and filled page after page with both big and little tips and pieces of advice. There’s so much great stuff I got out of it. Thanks for sharing.